Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that I've been using a greensmower I'm finding that edges and other obstacles in my yard are more difficult to get around. I have a string trimmer that I'm using to manage these areas but what I'm finding is that at this low height of cut it's really easy to misjudge the level of the trim and end up cutting too low and "browning up" these areas.

What have all of you found to be the best way to keep this from happening? Do I just need to be more careful?

·
Premium Member
706 Posts
Ware said:
They're not cheap, but I really like my Maruyama Landscape Blade. Let me know if you have any specific questions about it.
I've been eyeballing these for about six months and want to get one. Buying is sort of confusing. The power head is purchased separate from the blade, correct? Are there other accessories that can be purchased and used with the power head besides the blade?

Are there other power heads that the blade will work with, i.e. Stihl? Does the blades dull and require sharpening?

·
Administrator
Bermudagrass, 3.75 acres, Arkansas
12,865 Posts
Topcat said:
I've been eyeballing these for about six months and want to get one. Buying is sort of confusing. The power head is purchased separate from the blade, correct? Are there other accessories that can be purchased and used with the power head besides the blade?

Are there other power heads that the blade will work with, i.e. Stihl? Does the blades dull and require sharpening?
Yes, you buy the power head, then whatever attachments you want. That said, they do (or did) make an "LB30" that is a dedicated Landscape Blade unit. When I shopped it, there wasn't any significant savings to go with the dedicated unit - compared to what you gain by being able to add different attachments.

They offer a number of different attachments, similar to the offerings from other manufacturers: