Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Administrator
Bermudagrass, 3.75 acres, Arkansas
12,864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been putting this project off for a few years. I have been able to limp along without a formal irrigation system, but I do get tired of dragging hoses. Let me back up - it's not really the hose dragging that annoys me, it's the amount of time it takes to water the lawn via hose end sprinklers… it's really a flow (GPM) issue.

I have also made some significant changes to my landscape over the last several years - like reshaping/adding beds, pouring a sidewalk on the north side of my house, and doubling the size of my patio. So in a way I'm glad I put this project off until the shape of my lawn/landscape settled down a little.

I designed the system myself, with the help of the fantastic information available over at Irrigation Tutorials; however, (spoiler alert) I will not be doing the install myself. I've done all the research and I'm confident I could do it, but the decision really came down to the value of my time. I have a busy job, a wife and young daughter, and some civic duties, etc. I just don't want to sacrifice the free time right now - not to mention I'm sure I'll have my work cut out for me in getting everything level again. I have a competent installer lined up that has done a couple landscaping projects for me at work, so we sort of understand each other. He was willing to basically install my design, so that was a big plus.