Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wanted to see which you guys like better. It seems like everyone says the TruCut is superior but I was just wondering why? Looks like there are a lot more issues with TruCut reels or potential issues (clutches and sprocket issues). I have no experience with either and just wanted to see what you guys thought and especially hear from those that have used or owned both.

·
Registered
253 Posts
I have a late 70's early 80's McLane. I bought it last fall for $100 on CL. I've added a front roller for ~$30 and replaced the Motor for ~ $150.

I would say I have an average yard that's mowed with a reel. So I think it looks better than most of the yards in the hood.

I'm happy with the way I went. I hope in a few years I'll be able to upgrade to a greens mower.

·
Registered
234 Posts
I have been scouring CL for a reel in workable shape for a decent price, so I also eagerly await additional responses.

I assume the consensus will be that a TC is superior so my next question is, "Is the quality of cut and such that much better to warrant double the price?"

I'm seeing Mclane's w/ a roller for ~$400 whereas the only TC's I'm finding in the $500-600 range are listed as "needs sharpening" (thus double the price)

-Chris

·
Premium Member
2,502 Posts
Txmx583 said:
Looks like there are a lot more issues with TruCut reels or potential issues (clutches and sprocket issues).
This may be based on recency bias but yes, I believe that the TruCut has more robust mechanics and that may be the cause of increased potential issues.

Here are a few main differences:
Drive Mechanism:
McLane - roller drive which you need to lift a handle up/down to engage/disengage.
TruCut - wheel drive which you press a tab with your thumb to operate

Speed Control:
Mclane - I believe the only way to adjust the speed is to increase/decrease the engine throttle