Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Afternoon everybody and Happy Monday!

As I briefly described in a previous topic I posted, my wife and I recently built out house in March of last year. When the tif419 was applied, they did not take the proper approach to apply the grass; tilling, rolling, etc. Now I am not an expert by any-means, but I do know that they could have done a better job. We have half clay and half limestone where the house sits. The place where the builders got the sod from didn't remove any of the rocks and just threw the sod on there. :x

Now that we have been in the house for almost 16 months, I have noticed while mowing, and visualizing the future of what i want my yard to look like, that settling is occurring in my front and back yard. Low spots are becoming more apparent and has forced me to begin the planning stages of filling in those spots as it makes it difficult to get a clean cut around 1.5'. This is frustrating and forces me to keep my grass at 2 1/8' so you can't see the low spots when people drive by. I have done a little research and I have gathered that sand is going to be my best friend throughout the process, not to fill in more than half an inch, and DO NOT reseed as it is tif419 Bermuda. That is pretty much all that I know at this point.

Now this is a project for later on in the year, maybe early next year, once I have wrapped my head around the project and fully understand the right process so I can execute this properly. Does anybody have any protocols or guidelines that one could send me on the subject? I mean, i don't even know what the best time of year would be to under go this project (since it's Bermuda, I'm assuming summer?). None the less, I want to ensure that I grasp what it required of me to make sure I do this properly.

Thanks for the guidance in advance and I'm sure this won't be the last post asking for more advice.

Tex

·
Super Moderator