Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My front lawn is on a decent slope, maybe 25 degrees. Because the house is oriented E-W, if I mow across the slope the stripes are not really visible at all at any point from the road because the sun hits them perpendicular. So I have to mow up and down the slope at a slight angle. I see most of you using reel mowers have fairly flat yards, is using a reel mower feasible going up and down a slope like that? How heavy are those suckers, is it much worse than a self-propelled rotary?

·
Registered
151 Posts
I'm new to mine and still learning but can definitely say it's more cumbersome than a self propelled rotary mower. That's not to say it's harder, just a lot heavier. I have a hill on the side of my house, albeit a small one (14 degrees using iPhone), and it will go up it without any issues. As far as how heavy, shipping weight on it was 246lbs (John Deere 220E).

I'm sure others have bigger slopes than that and could help you with how hard/easy it would do on that.

·
Super Moderator
2,272 Posts
25 degrees I think would be too steep for a greens mower with a rear roller plus their max HOC is normally under 1.25". You would want something with wheels to get traction but then the rear wheels don't stripe as well as a greens mower with a rear roller. I have a decent slope for my hell strip and I can't use my greens mower on it I have to resort to the TruCut.

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·