Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have three lawns: front, side, and back--and I've broken each into a separate project.

This is my front lawn project, and if you think it looks bad now you should have seen it when we moved in last June (2016). I've never cared for a lawn before, so I'm a total rookie. I'm trying to list exactly what I've done to the lawn so far in hopes that you all can help guide me to a much better lawn than what I currently have.

• June through August 2016 - basic mowing. No time for anything else due to the move and a new baby.
  • September into mid-October 2016 - removed a large island in the middle and all of the field stone that surrounded it.
  • Late October 2016 - removed a very large white oak tree that was leaning toward the street. Contnued to mow as needed.
  • Early November 2016 - started enhancing the soil where the island / oak tree was, then reseeded the area with a mix of Scott's Sun Mix and Scott's Sun / Shade mix (No idea what I was doing so hit up YouTube). Continued to mow as needed, but didn't walk on newly seeded area at all.
  • Late November into early December 2016 - Watered and replaced top dressing as needed due to wind / rain events. Continued to mow as needed.
  • Early to mid-December 2016 - started to notice seedlings popping up through the area in pretty good numbers, but very sporadic. Continued to mow as needed, but still not walking on area of new growth.
  • January through March 2017 - Pelletized lime application and fertilizer from local supplier. No mowing needed.Put down Scott's Moss Killer mix, which worked great and I saw results in less than five days.
  • Early April 2017 - Ironite application and first mowing after noticing growth really taking off in late March. Also top dressed with top soil / sand mixture from local supplier and applied a mix of tall fescue and perennial ryegrass (both Scott's).