Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Leveling seems to be pretty common with warm season grasses but I was wondering what the process is for topdressing and leveling cool season grass.

If you've done it how did it work out? Can you do it with longer grass or do you need to be reel cutting around an inch or less? My concern with long grass is that the sand wouldn't be pushed in the low spots with a drag mat or rake effectively with long grass.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I'm no expert, but I imagine that you may run into trouble with longer grass. Have you ever scalped your KBG before? How does it recover? Given you need to scalp before you throw down the sand and level, this may be the key part to determining success. I'm not sure if you oversow with more seed in the fall but if you do it might be worth overseeding as part of the process??

·
Super Moderator
Bewitched KBG (38k sqft)
2,328 Posts
Leveling with sand can be done on KBG just like it is done on the warm season side, although maybe not as aggressively. You will need to cut as short as possible before you level as I don't think you will have much success leveling grass over 1" tall. This is a leveling I did on bewitched KBG. I cut/scalped down to 5/8" before I leveled. I went .375" deep with mason sand(which is just over 1 cu yd per 1000 sq ft). If I had to make a recommendation, I would stick to no more than .250" deep (about 3/4 cu yd per 1000 sq ft) As the amount I did was alittle too aggressive.

9/4/15 Cut down to 5/8"

9/5/15 when I was done dragging it in

9/7/15 after a few days of water

9/12/15

9/19/15

10/6/15

Next spring 4/13/16 HOC 9/16"

·
Registered
376 Posts