Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:x Hi every one. Name is Ron. I stumbled upon this website, and I thought it would be great to join and learn. I am new to wanting to take care of my lawn. Im one year into this home, and the lawn was never really taken care of by the previous owner (older lady). I will most likely have to regarded some of my property as it can hold a lot of water, but I am looking forward to improving the quality of grass along the way.

I have 0.6 acres, and it mostly weeds with some st. Aug sprinkled in. I will mainly be focusing on just my front yard for now (~2500sqft). The back yard will need major work. I recently went to a siteone store and picked up some celsius, surfactant, and some tracker dye. I plan to spray soon, but I really need to work on leveling the front lawn.

Most of the people on here, from my basic viewing, have bermuda grass and are leveling their yard with sand. I live in southern louisiana and have a clay based soil. Should I use same proactive with sand? My gut says no. I will be attaching some pics when I get home. Look forward to learning. Have a good one

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
I would say leveling is unnecessary with St Augustine unless you have really bad areas. You will cut it in the 3-4 inch range with a rotary, so leveling might not be worth the investment. Different story if you want bermuda at sub 1" heights.

·
Registered
573 Posts