Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Surely this annoys some others here: despite having correct amount of mulch and a pretty good sized concrete flowerbed barrier, mulch always ends up on the sidewalk, on the lawn, etc. I don't want to get a lawn vacuum, but I will so help me... :cool:

·
Super Moderator
Tifgrand—7,500 sq/ft—Baroness LM56
5,476 Posts
I've switched to rubber mulch and so far it's held in there pretty good. I get a few piece in the lawn every now and then but nothing to worry about.

·
Super Moderator
5,476 Posts
csbutler said:
I've been thinking about switching to rubber mulch. How well does it hold its color?
This is my first year with it but it says it has a 12 year color guarantee. It got great reviews on Lowe's.com.

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Maybe I'll do rubber mulch at next springs "cleaning". It's just annoying to have to pick it up almost every day. Some days I know my kids play with it and sometimes it's rain but I swear I could have a full-time job picking it up. And I don't want to dull my new reel...

·
Super Moderator
5,476 Posts
This is the stuff that I used and got at Lowe's Rubberific Shredded Mulch

It looks like the real thing and seems to stay put so far like I said before. I have noticed that some of it got thrown out by the irrigation heads but it was minimal at best and I don't worry about the reel so much while mowing either.

·
Super Moderator
5,476 Posts
ahartzell said:
That rubber mulch stuff is expensive!
J_nick said:
Initially it is but if it lasts 12 years then it would end up being much less in the long run
Yes, it is expensive initially but I figure if I can get 3-4 years out of it then my ROI (Return On Investment) is a win :thumbup: Plus all the labor of having to put the new mulch in every year too. I may need to add a bag or two every so often to thicken up thin areas but I don't see that as an issue.

·
Super Moderator
5,476 Posts