Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
884 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone doing this? What varieties are you using? I'm going to renovate part of my backyard. Probably around 6000 sqft or so. I currently have 50 lbs of hancocks transition zone seed. Its has champion gq prg, midnight kbg, and 3 types of fescue. Cayenne, firewall, and blade runner 2. Should i stick with this or try kbg. I can use the other seed in other areas. I'm still pretty new at all of this, but looking for all opinions.

Don't know if it matters, but i don't think I'm planning on using a topdressing. Can always change my mind though. :)

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
I'm currently growing Barenbrug's Turf Blue HGT in Greensboro NC. I chose this mix because it contains Barvette HGT, which tops the NTEP KBG chart in Raleigh NC and other transition zone areas. It is an aggressive cultivar with very high resistance to summer patch. It's meant for athletic fields and fast recovery from wear and traffic.

For that matter, I believe you can get a good look at it right in your "back yard" :thumbup:

·
Registered
376 Posts
Budstl said:
Anyone doing this? What varieties are you using? I'm going to renovate part of my backyard. Probably around 6000 sqft or so. I currently have 50 lbs of hancocks transition zone seed. Its has champion gq prg, midnight kbg, and 3 types of fescue. Cayenne, firewall, and blade runner 2. Should i stick with this or try kbg. I can use the other seed in other areas. I'm still pretty new at all of this, but looking for all opinions.

Don't know if it matters, but i don't think I'm planning on using a topdressing. Can always change my mind though. :)