Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am seriously thinking about a full Renovation on my front lawn. This is my first year going low with my Bermuda. It seems that I have different cultivars because my lawn is three toned that is very obvious with a low cut lawn, but not as obvious when cut at 2 inches. So how long between spraying glyco and laying sod?

·
Super Moderator
Tifgrand—7,500 sq/ft—Baroness LM56
5,474 Posts
What are your other plans to do to the lawn to prep it before the sod?

·
Premium Member
706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Mightyquinn said:
What are your other plans to do to the lawn to prep it before the sod?
My plans would be to mirror some of what I've seen here
- Kill it
- Remove dead grass and stolons
- Kill it again
- Remove dead grass and stolons
- Level as much as possible
- Then sod

I am not sure if there is much more to it. But if there is, please advise... I am open to suggestions and ideas from those that have traveled this path before.

·
Super Moderator
2,272 Posts
The most effective way to kill Bermuda isn't the prettiest. Articles I've read say to kill it in July wait for regrowth Aug-sept kill again. Then spray again if you see any green before dormancy. The next spring kill anything that greens up and you should have a really successful kill.

I sprayed after green up this year then again after I had some regrowth. I just put seed down and I have spots where the Bermuda is coming back. I'm guessing I didn't wait long enough for the second spray but I was on a deadline to get the seed in the ground.

·
Registered
573 Posts
I had a similar problem. My backyard was two or three kinds of Bermuda and st. Augustine. I have been working on killing the Bermuda for almost a year. About 3 blanket apps of glyphosate and many many spot sprays. There seems to be a certain mutant strain that is very tolerant of glyphosate, I'll post some pics...