Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone!

I just happened to stumble upon this site tonight and man have I been missing out! I've been using the "other forum" since earlier this spring (<25 posts), and while I haven't had a negative experience, I've already found this forum is much more active amongst the warm-season crowd and better suits my day-to-day needs. I'm starting this thread to introduce myself, as well as begin my 2017 documentation.

My name is Blaine and I live 45 minutes north east of Atlanta. I am a full time worship/student pastor at a local church here in northern Gwinnett County. Brand new first-time homeowner of a new construction in NE Metro Atlanta. Graduated from Georgia State University in May '16, bought a house in October, got married in November, and now that it's spring I'm ready to make my yard all it can be. From what I've gathered, a great lawn is a years-long process marked by patience and diligence. I don't have a dog and 2.5 kids yet, but since a great lawn is a marathon, why not start now? A little bit about my yard:

I'm working with about 1,800 sq ft (around 800 in the back, 700 in the front, and another 300 on a strip along the side). Not a lot, but the perfect first lawn size for me to learn and grow as an enthusiast. Also friendly on the wallet. Like I said, new construction; the builder did a pretty poor job of leveling the soil so a lot of the surface is uneven/bumpy (especially the side yard). They laid the Bermuda sod in early October of '16. Whether they took proper care of it before we moved in, I have no clue. My guess is probably not. Here is my soil test results, taken in April.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_q96EzEpU59dmpJVE0wcTAyejJrM1FrRXdnbkMwZGNXRjBv