Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I've said in other posts...complete noob to doing more than cutting and throwing out an occasional bag of milo in my yard. Brand new sod (2.5 weeks). When should I apply a fertilizer? 30-60 days after install?

Is there a real difference between fertilizer choices? Brand? Or for all intents and purposes is every fertilizer with the same NPK functionally the same? Obviously you have the choice between synthetic/organic, but within those categories, I guess, I"m wondering how to pick a brand. Any recs there (interested in both synthetic and organic choices).

For this first season, do I need to go with something like Lesco's starter fert (18-24-12)? Should I still be shooting for ~0.75-1 pound of N per 1k/sq ft?

·
Registered
859 Posts
mrigney said:
As I've said in other posts...complete noob to doing more than cutting and throwing out an occasional bag of milo in my yard. Brand new sod (2.5 weeks). When should I apply a fertilizer? 30-60 days after install?

Is there a real difference between fertilizer choices? Brand? Or for all intents and purposes is every fertilizer with the same NPK functionally the same? Obviously you have the choice between synthetic/organic, but within those categories, I guess, I"m wondering how to pick a brand. Any recs there (interested in both synthetic and organic choices).

For this first season, do I need to go with something like Lesco's starter fert (18-24-12)? Should I still be shooting for ~0.75-1 pound of N per 1k/sq ft?