Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 868 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Tifgrand—7,500 sq/ft—Baroness LM56
5,476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using this solution for many years with pretty good success on my Tifway lawn. This stuff is similar to the Iron sprays you can buy but it is much cheaper to make it yourself and the products are easily available on eBay. Spraying this solution will help give your lawn a deeper darker green and will generally last a few weeks. This is what you will need.

Ferrous Sulfate(Iron)

Ammonium Sulfate

One of THESE will come in handy to mix it all together.

For every 1K of lawn you will want to mix 4oz of Ferrous Sulfate, 3.4oz of Ammonium Sulfate in 1 Gallon of water. I usually mix it in a 5 gallon bucket of HOT water as it will dissolve faster and easier than it will with cold water. In that 5 gallon bucket, I will mix everything for 8K of lawn in one shot and then dilute it in the sprayer tank.

You will want to spray this in the evening when it isn't as hot outside to reduce the chance of burning your lawn(I have never had an issue with it). You will want to leave it on your lawn for as long as you can. I usually spray it the night before my irrigation is set to go off. I have gotten into the habit of mixing this with my PGR app every 3 weeks as it seems to be perfect timing for applying the stuff.

I wouldn't worry about the 21-0-0 in the Ammonium Sulfate as you are applying such a small amount that it shouldn't have any effect on your overall Nitrogen applications. The Ammonium Sulfate is in the solution to help give it a faster and more intense green up and CAN be omitted if you choose. I have never sprayed without it so YMMV(Your Milage May Very).

The Ferrous Sulfate is the MAIN ingredient for the dark green color.

The Ammonium Sulfate basically acts as a booster for the Ferrous Sulfate and will enhance/speed up the greening process.

Ferrous Ammonium Sulfate for every 1K of Bermuda Lawn