Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings everybody!

I'm a newbie here on the forum, however, I use this forum as a go-to source for research. Normally, I can research on this forum and come to conclusions myself, however, I am completely stumped on this. I am a new home owner, and I have Bermuda Tif419. My wife and I built the house in March of 2016 and had Bermuda put down.

Everything was going great until I aerated my yard a few weeks ago. I travel for the military as a consultant and I got was injured and needed to have surgery in which I was out of commission for 14 days. Normally I mow every 4 days and I mulch the clippings. I also water infrequently once a week to a depth of 6 inches (screw driver test to confirm). Since I was unable to maintain my turf post-aeration, I got a nice welcoming back present with an infestation of either Crabgrass or Dallisgrass. I have tried to come to a conclusion as to which one it is so I can develop a game plan to eliminate it, however, I am at a loss. I know the aeration brought up the seeds, but I didn't expect to have surgery right after I was aerating.

To me this looks like Crabgrass, but I've read it could be dallisgrass. I am losing my mind as to which one it is due to the fact that I want it gone (my house is the first one in the neighborhood so I want it to be attractive). Any thoughts on what weed species this is? I try to have an organic approach to lawn care and typically hand pull weeds, but since there are so many, I am willing to spot spray with a chemical if needed (I have access to Quinclorac) and the other RTU sprays.

Any thoughts? I'd greatly appreciate the help! My apologies for only one picture, I'm not too sure how to upload them on to the post.

Tex

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
j4c11 said:
Looks like crabgrass to me.