Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Tifgrand—7,500 sq/ft—Baroness LM56
5,474 Posts
It does look kind of like Goosegrass, you will need something labeled for grassy weeds.

·
Registered
250 Posts
I'm not an expert of weed ID. However, my Mom's yard was infested with goosegrass. Goosegrass differs from crabgrass on the seed heads, as well as the base looking like a wagon wheel. She tired all different kinds of treatments and the only one that worked for her was to hand pull them out. If it is goosegrass then the roots are shallow and are able to extract by hand without leaving too much of the root system in play.

I don't have any experience with Celsius, but that may be an option as well. I'm sure others will chime in.

·
Super Moderator
5,474 Posts
I don't see Goosegrass on the label but it might go by another name. I don't see how Celsius couldn't kill it unless it was a Sedge of some sort.

·
Registered
244 Posts
That is definitely goosegrass.

Quinclorac doesn't touch it.

You need to find something with Sulfentrazone. Depot and Lowe's both carry an ortho southern weed killer with that as an ingredient. It will take multiple sprays to get rid of it.

As a side note, goosegrass loves compacted soil. It's telling you something. Aerate, spray Sulfentrazone, and get on a PreM program and you will be in the clear in no time.
Goosegrass is one of the fastest spreading weeds you can get due to the thousand of seeds produced by a single stalk so it can be very frustrating.

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
southernguy311 said:
That is definitely goosegrass.

Quinclorac doesn't touch it.

You need to find something with Sulfentrazone. Depot and Lowe's both carry an ortho southern weed killer with that as an ingredient. It will take multiple sprays to get rid of it.