Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok starting another thread from my Yukon Bermuda renovation

Background
May 14 after alot of work I seeded Yukon Bermuda seed over my 22,000 square foot lawn.
Despite all the TLC I had a extreme outbreak of crabgrass. So much so that by day 15 after seeding, crabgrass covered about 40% of my front lawn.

Crabgrass yard Yeahhh

Despite warnings about It honestly being to soon to treat for crabgrass, I decided to experiment on the most infested area/section. Maybe my failure or success could help others.
So I did
The next couple post will detail what I did.

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
1st and foremost this is a warning.
DO NOT assume I am an expert. I am NOT
DO not get mad at me if you are as impatient as I was and you follow what I did and KILL your Lawn.
This is just my experiment
Try AT YOUR OWN RISK
Try AT YOUR OWN RISK
Try AT YOUR OWN RISK
Try AT YOUR OWN RISK

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The treatment took place 17 days after seeding. I had germination on day 10.
7 days after Germination
Alot of my yard I could see about a 50/50 crabgrass to Yukon grass.
I used flags and squared off 2000 square feet of heavily infested crabgrass front. In the flagged area, shown by dots on the picture above, I would really struggle to see any Bermuda grass, Even on my knees I could Not see anything.

close up
And I used a 1 square foot area of mostly Yukon Bermuda and just a couple spots of crabgrass.

Test area 2

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What I used

MSMA
Marking Dye
Water

I used the XR Teejet nozzel when applying the product. I gave all areas only and I repeat Only 1 pass from the sprayer. I used a double dose of marking dye to ensure I didnt over spray.

I used exactly 20 ml of MSMA to 192 Fluid ounces of water and 2 ounces or Mark it Blue marking dye.
I did not use a surfactant

·
Registered
1,061 Posts